The legal framework of the Examination Board is given by Dutch Law, in particular the Dutch Higher Education and Research Act (Wet op het hoger onderwijs en wetenschappelijk onderzoek- WHW). 


The Examination Board has many different tasks. Generally the following components can be discerned:

  • A supervisory responsibility with regard to the final exams, examinations and tests (correctly applying examination regulations, mediation in appeals, quality assurance).
  • Enforcing regulations (guidelines for examiners, regulations regarding fraud, assessment of exams, and compensation rules);
  • Granting exemptions from the rules in individual cases (course exemptions, additional opportunities for examination, granting lenience with reference to Binding Study Advice);
  • Advisory tasks (periodic advice with reference to Binding Study Advice, advice to the dean with reference to the Teaching and Examination Regulations) 


The Examination Board consists of six members of the academic staff and two external members. All members are appointed by the Dean. The Examination Board collectively sets up rules and policy. The Examination Board as a whole meets once a month. Each member has his own portfolio. The Examination Board is supported by the secretary.


Prof.dr. L.C.P.M. Meijs (Chair)
Dr. I. Bogenrieder
Dr. J.P.J.M. Essers
Dr. W. Hulsink
Dr. M.B.J. Schauten (external member)
Prof. dr. P.G.J. Roosenboom

Secretary to the Examination Board

C.M. Dirks-van den Broek LL M (managing director / secretary)
J. van der Woude MSc-LL B (secretary quality assurance)
I.M. van Essen LL M (deputy-secretary)

M.C. de Haan-Huijgen (deputy-secretary)
A.M. Schey MScBA (deputy-secretary)


K. van Oers/ T. Moerland/ J. Lintner

For the most up-to-date information, please visit this page.